Schoharie Creek

Schoharie Creek

Although I am a former fly fishing guide who spent ten glorious years on the Beaverkill River in New York’s Catskill Mountains, I don’t often write about the subject of fly fishing in my blog.  Even a professional guide had to start somewhere, however, so I thought I would tell you how I began my love affair with what turned out to be my favorite activity.  This is a short story that goes way back to the early 1970s.  It’s called The First Time, and I hope you enjoy it.

Click on the blue link below to download the story.

A Short Story THE FIRST TIME  by Joe Perrone Jr

If you enjoy this story, please “like” the post and leave a reply. Better yet, won’t you share a similar story about your introduction to an important activity in your life in the comment section below?

NOTE: Joe Perrone Jr is the author of the highly-successful Matt Davis Mystery Series: As the Twig is Bent, Opening Day (a 2012 Indie B.R.A.G. medallion winner), Twice Bitten, and Broken Promises.  All four are available in paperback and E-book from Amazon.com.  As the Twig is Bent and Opening Day are also in audiobook from Audible.com, with Twice Bitten and Broken Promises currently in production.  If humor is your cup of tea, consider Joe’s rip-roaring, coming-of-age novel, Escaping Innocence: A Story of Awakening, set in the tumultuous Sixties.  It, too, is available in print, E-book, and audio book editions.

