A couple of weeks ago, my cell phone and my wireless card (not sure if that’s the right term but being pretty much tech-challenged, that’s what I call it) contract expired so my husband and I take ourselves off to the Verizon store to renew.  After much dithering and exploring our options, we walked out of the store almost $500 poorer and with two new phones, one for each of us, and a new play-toy for me, a Samsung Galaxy Tablet.

Samsung Galaxy Tab

The first thing I did when I got home was to download all the e-reader apps for androids on my new tablet.  Since then I’ve spent almost every free minute of my time reading and spending boo-koodles of money on e-books.

So, after two weeks of trying out the different e-reader apps I’m now ready to give you my opinion…

I love them every one!

Okay, okay, that’s a cop-out but the more e-books I read, the more I love them.  I hardly miss my print books at all anymore but I do have two e-reader apps that I like best.

First, I love the Kindle app but I suspect that’s mainly because after checking prices and selections at the e-book stores, Amazon has the best prices (for the most part) and the best selection (without a doubt).  I find myself using the Kindle app more than the others–but that could be because I’ve downloaded more Kindle books than books for the Nook, Sony, or Kobo.

My second choice would have to be the Kobo.  I like that it tells you how many pages are in the chapter you’re reading (the worst thing about Kindle is there are no page numbers!).  Border’s e-book prices usually match Amazon’s, in some cases they’re a little higher and in others, a little lower, but not enough to make a big difference.

 Also, with the Kindle, you have the option of lower priced books from the smaller presses and self-pubbed authors.  Granted, you can get some real stinkers when you consistently shop by price but I’ve seen more than few stinkers from the big publishing houses too.  I don’t know about you, but the more I pay for a book, the more I expect and some of the big publishers are dropping the ball when it comes to editing their authors’ work.  And don’t get me started on Agency pricing.  Not to mention the prices on an author’s backlist–yikes!  I’d really love to replace some of my favorite print books with e-books but…not gonna happen unless the big publishers lower the prices or someone comes up with a way to give credit for trading in the print books I already have.  But that’s a story for another day.

Back to the e-reader apps; Sony and Nook are pretty much tied in last place.  Not that there’s anything wrong with the apps, they’re actually right up there with Kindle and Kobo, but I just don’t seem to open them as much.  I’m pretty sure the reason for that is the pricing in their e-book stores.  The best thing about Sony and Nook are they both let you know how many pages total are in a book and I like that.  Don’t know why but I like to know how far I’ve read and how far I have to go.

So, it comes down to the pricing.  Yeah, yeah, I know, I’m a cheapskate, a skinflint, a penny-pincher or as my niece likes to say Scrooge-alicious.  Nothing I love more than a bargain and so far, Kindle and Kobo seem to be leading the pack in that respect which makes them my favorite apps.

As far as being user-friendly, they all rate the same: super-easy to use, super-easy to sync, and a little too easy to purchase more e-books–which has the potential to be a huge problem for someone like me!

